The 2016 SNO Distinguished Sites Application Season Is Now Open!

Between now and May 31 you can (and really should) apply for any (or all) of the SNO Distinguished Sites badges representing six key components of a modern news website:

  • Continuous Coverage

  • Site Excellence

  • Story Page Excellence

  • Excellence in Writing

  • Multimedia

  • Audience Engagement

Not a contest with winners or losers, the SNO Distinguished Sites program recognizes those sites that meet the standards in each of these core areas. For each set of standards reached, a badge will be displayed on the SNO client list next to that publication’s name.

News staffs are welcome to tackle the badges in any order, striving to earn as many as makes sense for their publication. A site that earns badges in all six core areas will be designated as a SNO Distinguished Site. Any staff that earns the SNO Distinguished Site designation will be permanently recognized on SNO’s Award Winners page.

Last year, in the program’s second season, 103 sites piled up nearly 178 individual badges, with 14 programs earning the honor of Distinguished Site.

If you’re a new program and just starting out, you can use these standards to chart your course. If you’re an experienced program already doing these things, then what are you waiting for? Apply for your badges today.

Submissions will be accepted through May 31, 2016, and you can reapply as often as necessary. Badges will be published on our client list as soon as we review your site.

To learn more and to apply, please visit the the SNO Distinguished Sites page.